Litany and Satire by Brett Abigaña

July 27, 2017  |   Posted In

_Litany and Satire - Full Scorew_Page_01_Litany and Satire - Full Scorew_Page_01


By Brett Abigaña

Duration: 12 minutes
Grade Level: 4

Litany and Satire is a concerto for piano and orchestra in two movements. The Litany was written in the days following September 11th, 2001, and presents a chant-like movement and simple melodic phrases in the piano and orchestra. The Satire was written as a response to a challenge to write a 12-tone fugue. In short, we are often taught that fugues are only effective because they can be composed within a tonally- or triadically-based language, and that therefore the 12-tone technique renders a fugue irrelevant, or at least unimpressive. I didn't agree with that when I first heard it, and I don't agree now. Instead, a fugue can be absolutely effective in any language, if only the boundaries and idiosyncrasies of that language are clearly established (even if the rules are subsequently broken!) the fugue is interrupted in the middle by a sarcastic March, using trumpet, tuba, and flute solos in addition to the piano. The movement ends with a violent restatement of the fugue and a dissonant forearm crash in the piano.

Movement I

Movement II

Category: Tag:

Additional information

Weight 0.1 lbs
Dimensions .004 × 11 × 17 in

comment closed